Domestic Violence Second Offense Lawyers in Orange
What You Can Expect if You are Facing a Second Domestic Violence Charge in Orange County
Those who are convicted of repeat domestic violence offenses stand to face significantly harsher consequences compared to those who have no prior record. This is true of most criminal offenses in California ꟷ repeat offenders tend to face more severe punishment. The exact nature of the penalties will depend on the type of offense that was committed, the gravity of the injuries sustained by the victim, and the type of prior offenses on the defendant’s criminal record.
If you have been charged with a second domestic violence offense in Orange County, CA, it is important that you seek the counsel of an experienced domestic violence defense attorney who can help you fight those charges. You may face significant penalties including jail or prison time.
Charges and Penalties
Under California Penal Code Section 243 (e) (1), a first offense of domestic battery could result in up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to $2,000. A second offense could result in additional jail time. Also, under California Penal Code Section 273.5,a first offense of domestic violence causing injury (often charged as a felony) is punishable by up to 4 years in state prison and a fine of up to $6,000.
A second domestic violence offense causing injury within 7 years of the first conviction could result in up to 5 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000. These consequences are purely for domestic violence offenses. If you are facing charges involving other accompanying crimes, your consequences could be even grimmer. It is also important to remember that if your domestic violence incident caused the victim to suffer serious bodily injury, it could be considered a strike on your criminal record. Under California law, 3 strikes could result in a sentence of 25 years to life.
Importance of Fighting the Charges in Orange County, Ca
As is evident, you could potentially face a lengthier prison sentence and a substantially larger fine for a repeat domestic violence offense. In addition, convicted individuals may be required to pay restitution to the victim, donate to a victims’ shelter, give up one’s firearms, or participate in an anger management or batterer’s treatment program. It is also important to note that the second domestic violence offense doesn’t have to be against the same person for it to be viewed as a repeat offense. Also, if you’ve violated an existing protective order in the process of committing the repeat offense, you could face additional charges and criminal penalties.
If you are facing a second domestic violence offense, it would be in your best interest to speak with an experienced Orange County domestic violence defense attorney. You could be facing jail time, hefty fines, losing your job, or even losing custody of your children.
As criminal defense attorneys who help individuals fight domestic violence charges in Orange County and all of Southern California, we know that the charges could stem from inaccurate statements or even spite. We can help you build a defense that could result in your charges being dropped or lessened.
Contact us today at (844) 807-8180 to find out how we can help you.